© 2023 by BACG 2018

BACG Young Scientist Award

BACG Young Scientist Competition – Nominations welcomed


Deadline for applications: Monday 21 May, 2018


The BACG has established this annual award to recognise achievement by young scientists publishing work in the field of crystal growth. The winner will receive a cheque for £250 and an engraved medal and will present the work as an invited paper on Thursday 21th June at BACG 2018, following which the formal presentation of the award will be made by the President of the BACG.

The award is made annually to the candidate achieving the most significant advance in the understanding of the theory, practice or characterisation of crystal growth processes published in the scientific literature in the previous three calendar years.

Entries, which are not restricted to members of the BACG, should be based on research carried out in a laboratory in the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland or by a UK or ROI national working overseas.


Candidates should be aged 35 or under at the time of the annual meeting. The work should be submitted in the form of a single paper carrying an acceptance date prior to the candidate's 35th birthday. The candidate should nominate a suitable referee (Head of Department, supervisor or line manager) who may be contacted to comment on the paper and on the extent of the candidate's contribution to the work.

The entries are judged by the president of the BACG who may consult widely with national and international experts in the particular area of the entry to ensure that the work of the successful candidate is of the highest quality. BACG reserves the right not to award the prize in any particular year in which entries are deemed not have reached a sufficiently high standard. 

The winner will present their work in a plenary session at the BACG Annual Conference and will receive a free conference and reasonable travel expenses in addition to the award.

Persons wishing to submit nominations for the award should forward a single publication together with supporting material to l.seton@ljmu.ac.uk


WINNER OF THE 2017 AWARD: Dr. David C Green, School of Chemistry, University of Leeds, United Kingdom.


WINNER OF THE 2016 AWARD: Dr. Rachel Sullivan, School of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science, University of Manchester, United Kingdom.


WINNER OF THE 2015 AWARD: Dr. Khamar Dikshitkumar from Materials and Surface Science Institute, Department of Chemical and Environmental Science, University of Limerick, Ireland.